Home > Message > iPhunny and Giglish are shutting down on June 30th, 2011

iPhunny and Giglish are shutting down on June 30th, 2011

iPhunny and Giglish will shut-down permanently on June 30th, 2011 for the reasons mentioned in the earlier post.

Despite our best efforts, we have not been able to find any other company to take over our publishing operations. Apparently other companies also dislike business models where publishing costs exceed subscription and advertising revenue :)

We are thankful for and appreciate the offers from readers to help, but do not believe there is a viable alternative to keep iPhunny and Giglish running, even in a modified reduced-cost mode.

iPhunny and Giglish will stop publishing new jokes effective Monday, June 20th. We will be running repeat jokes from previous years till June 30th, at which point all publishing operations will cease, and iPhunny and Giglish will ride away into the sunset.

It was a fun ride while it lasted. Thankyou for all your support over the years.

The iPhunny and Giglish Team

  1. Carolyn
    June 24, 2011 at 7:24 pm

    You will be sorely missed. You brightened so many lives. Many thanks. Please let me know if some miracle saves your app or brings it back and I will publicize it on my tech blog.

  2. June 22, 2011 at 6:35 am

    Really sad that despite your several attempts, you were not able to keep this going. Thanks for bringing a smile every morning in not-so-happy world as it is, not only for me but for millions or thousands of others. I loved that it was a honest and simple website and app. I personally wish you well done and the best wishes for the future ventures.

  3. Jennifer
    June 21, 2011 at 11:00 am

    My fiance and I are incredibly sorry to see you end just as we are beginning the rest of our lives together. You were an intergal part of our every day lives as we were beginning our relationship. Every day, I would ask, “Do you want to hear the Phunnies?” To which I would receive an enthusiastice “YES!” Laughing and enjoying each other’s sense of humor was something that brought us closer together for over a year, even though we were 800 miles apart. Thank you for adding another dimension to our amazing life! You will be missed.

  4. Nancy
    June 21, 2011 at 8:01 am

    Please don’t go!

  5. DJ
    June 21, 2011 at 7:29 am

    Very sad to contemplate. Now I won’t be able to insert these jokes into conversation as if I thought of them, since you will no longer be publishing them as if you thought of them. There go my popularity, my invitations, my girlfriend!! But… Thanks for the good times when you had my back.

    If anyone wants me, I’ll be at the clinic, if any of the groups will take me now.

  6. heidi
    June 20, 2011 at 11:29 pm

    you were the only app i used every day, and i live in switzerland. really sad and sorry to see you shut down, will miss you a lot.

  7. Robert
    June 20, 2011 at 11:17 am

    Sup dawg don’t feel bad
    This is the life you never had
    Waking up to jokes from the night
    Laughing a lot, with all my might
    Come on dudes don’t be sorry
    Now u can sit home and watch Maury
    People think that jokes are fun
    But once they’ve been read, they’re done

    You ain’t got money
    You ain’t got time
    You ain’t got a honey
    Who can roll like a dime

    Hollaaa

  8. left coast sports babe
    June 20, 2011 at 12:00 am

    There’s a word for companies whose publishing costs exceed subscription and advertising revenue. They’re called newspapers. But maybe you can get Anthony Weiner to volunteer. He’s got tech savvy and a lot of time on this hands. (Seriously, this stinks.)

  9. Netnutzz
    June 19, 2011 at 9:42 pm

    U’r iPhone app and jokes got me hooked, it was a clean, easy to read interface and ur one liner picks are really funny, will miss reading ur picks….

  10. Anonymous
    June 19, 2011 at 8:59 pm

    You were my first read every day. Thanks for starting my day with a smile over and over again. Your efforts were certainly appreciated. Good luck to you all.

  11. June 19, 2011 at 6:19 pm

    Why don’t you try to get a major actor/singer to endorse you, like will smith or something?

  12. Mydejavu
    June 19, 2011 at 3:35 pm

    Sorry to see you guys going :-(

  13. Ed riley
    June 19, 2011 at 3:33 pm

    This may really mess me up? I never watch the news and this was a better way to keep up with current events than you guys realize! I didn’t know they got Osama till I saw something on iphunny about it! Well I’m sure you tried I don’t really get why listening to the monologs of talk show hosts then posting them costs so much ?!? I will miss you guys :(

  14. Anonymous
    June 19, 2011 at 3:23 pm

    Sorry to see you go. Your site will be missed.

  15. Tanuki
    June 19, 2011 at 2:40 pm

    So sorry to see you go :( Good luck with any future venture!

  16. June 19, 2011 at 11:46 am

    Bummer. I really liked reading the jokes. – Chris.

  17. V Gulshan
    June 19, 2011 at 9:23 am

    Your app was really good, and high quality. Sorry to see you go.

  18. TG Gomez
    June 19, 2011 at 6:15 am

    I will truly miss my morning “cup” of my iPhunny.

  19. June 19, 2011 at 12:54 am

    Totally dug this app. So very sorry to see you go. Thanks for all the laughs.

  20. PJ Bresee
    June 18, 2011 at 3:16 pm

    Whaaaat? You mean this wasn’t an April Fool’s joke? Bummer.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

